Undergraduate Summer Fellowship Program

June 7 – August 14, 2021


The Undergraduate Summer Fellowship Program in Interdisciplinary Mind and Brain Studies at Penn is a full-time, 10-week research experience. Admitted students will be awarded a $4500 salary stipend for research work with a Penn faculty mentor. The first week of the program will include workshop-style sessions with faculty as well as a short training course in programming, and weekly lunches will bring program participants together for research discussions, professional development, and faculty seminars throughout the summer.  




On our program application, we ask applicants to select their top three choices of mentor from the list of participating faculty at the bottom of this page. We also require a resume, unofficial transcript, and short personal statement; non-Penn student applicants are also required to request 2 letters of recommendation to be sent to us directly from their referees, if they are selected for first-round review. Applicants should have completed their sophomore or junior years, with consideration also given to exceptionally well-qualified freshmen. Graduating seniors are not eligible for the summer fellowship. 

Click here for more detailed information about the 2021 Program.


Click here for the 2021 Program application!


Applications are due January 31, 2021.
Questions? Email us at: imbsummerfellows@sas.upenn.edu




The Summer Fellowship Program is sponsored by MindCORE, Penn’s hub for the integrative study of the mind. The program for Penn students is funded through a generous donor gift, and is named the Lila R. Gleitman Undergraduate Summer Fellowship Program.


2021 Program – Participating Faculty



David Lydon-Staley
Andy Tan



Jianjing Kuang
Anna Papafragou
Charles Yang



Kathryn A. Davis
Roy Hamilton
Brian Litt
Corey McMillan



Joshua Gold
Michael Platt



Yale Cohen
Maria Geffen


Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Michelle Johnson


Physics and Astronomy

Vijay Balasubramanian



Rinad Beidas
Desmond Oathes
Juhi Pandey



Coren Apicella
Jonathan Baron
Sudeep Bhatia
Johannes Burge
Delphine Dahan
Robert DeRubeis
Joseph Kable
Allyson Mackey
Anna Schapiro
Alan Stocker
Daniel Swingley
Sharon Thompson-Schill